2nd International Conference on INtelligent TEchnologies for interactive enterTAINment

Research Article

Managing Emergent Character-Based Narrative

Download51 downloads
  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.4108/ICST.INTETAIN2008.2468,
        author={Ruth Aylett and Sandy Louchart and Anders Tychsen and Michael Hitchens and Rui Figueiredo and Carlos Delgado  Mata},
        title={Managing Emergent Character-Based Narrative},
        proceedings={2nd International Conference on  INtelligent TEchnologies for interactive enterTAINment},
        publisher={ICST},
        proceedings_a={INTETAIN},
        year={2010},
        month={5},
        keywords={Synthetic actors Artificial Intelligence Interactive Storytelling. Story management. Game Masters},
        doi={10.4108/ICST.INTETAIN2008.2468}
    }
    
  • Ruth Aylett
    Sandy Louchart
    Anders Tychsen
    Michael Hitchens
    Rui Figueiredo
    Carlos Delgado Mata
    Year: 2010
    Managing Emergent Character-Based Narrative
    INTETAIN
    ICST
    DOI: 10.4108/ICST.INTETAIN2008.2468
Ruth Aylett1,*, Sandy Louchart1,*, Anders Tychsen2,*, Michael Hitchens2,*, Rui Figueiredo3,*, Carlos Delgado Mata4,*
  • 1: MACS, Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh UK EH14 4AS 0044(0)1314513424
  • 2: Department of Computing, Macquarie University 2109, North Ryde, NSW, Australia .+0061 (02) 9850 9543
  • 3: INESC-ID and IST, Rua Prof Cavaco Silva 2780 990 Porto Salvo Portugal
  • 4: Universidad Panamericana, Campus Bonaterra, Aguascalientes Ags - C.P20290 - Mexico
*Contact email: ruth@macs.hw.ac.uk, sandy@macs.hw.ac.uk, atychsen@ics.mq.edu.au, mhitchens@ics.mq.edu.au, Rui.figueiredo@tagus.ist.utl.pt, cdelgado@ags.up.mx

Abstract

In this paper, we consider the role of narrative management in a character-based emergent narrative framework. The paper defines the problem and considers related work. It evaluates the role of the Game Master in non computer-based role-playing games and presents two initial implementations of a story facilitator within a character-based system using the FAtiMA agent architecture. Finally it considers what further work is required.