3rd International ICST Conference on Body Area Networks

Research Article

Physiological Signal Monitoring in the Waiting Areas of an Emergency Room

Download334 downloads
  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.4108/ICST.BODYNETS2008.2968,
        author={Dorothy Curtis and Eugene Shih and Jason Waterman and John Guttag and Jacob M. Bailey and Thomas Stair and Robert A.  Greenes and Lucila Ohno-Machado},
        title={Physiological Signal Monitoring in the Waiting Areas of an Emergency Room},
        proceedings={3rd International ICST Conference on Body Area Networks},
        publisher={ICST},
        proceedings_a={BODYNETS},
        year={2010},
        month={5},
        keywords={Physiological signal monitoring sensor network},
        doi={10.4108/ICST.BODYNETS2008.2968}
    }
    
  • Dorothy Curtis
    Eugene Shih
    Jason Waterman
    John Guttag
    Jacob M. Bailey
    Thomas Stair
    Robert A. Greenes
    Lucila Ohno-Machado
    Year: 2010
    Physiological Signal Monitoring in the Waiting Areas of an Emergency Room
    BODYNETS
    ICST
    DOI: 10.4108/ICST.BODYNETS2008.2968
Dorothy Curtis1,*, Eugene Shih1,*, Jason Waterman1,*, John Guttag1,*, Jacob M. Bailey2,*, Thomas Stair2,*, Robert A. Greenes3,*, Lucila Ohno-Machado4,*
  • 1: Massachusetts Institute of Technology, CSAIL, Cambridge, MA, USA 1-617-253-0541
  • 2: Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Emergency Department, Boston, MA, USA
  • 3: Arizona State University, Department of Biomedical Informatics, Phoenix, AZ USA
  • 4: Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Decision Systems Group, Boston, MA, USA
*Contact email: dcurtis@csail.mit.edu, eugene@csail.mit.edu, jwaterman@csail.mit.edu, guttag@mit.edu, jacob.m.bailey@gmail.com, tstair@partners.org, greenes@asu.edu, machado@dsg.harvard.edu

Abstract

The Scalable Medical Alert and Response Technology (SMART) System was developed to monitor physiological signals from patients in the waiting areas of an emergency department. The system monitors the SpO2 (oxygenation level in the blood), ECG (electrical activity of the heart) and the location of multiple patients wirelessly. It is currently deployed at the Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston, MA. This paper describes the overall architecture, the sensors used, challenges in deploying this technology in a hospital and the degree of patient acceptance. Some sections of this article are based on an article first published in the Journal of the American Medical Informatics Association (J Am Med Inform Assn: 2008; 1) [7].