Personal Satellite Services. 4th International ICST Conference, PSATS 2012, Bradford, UK, March 22-23, 2012. Revised Selected Papers

Research Article

Handover Management for Hybrid Satellite/Terrestrial Networks

Download213 downloads
  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-642-36787-8_12,
        author={Fabrice Arnal and Riadh Dhaou and Julien Fasson and Julien Bernard and Didier Barvaux and Emmanuel Dubois and Patrick G\^{e}lard},
        title={Handover Management for Hybrid Satellite/Terrestrial Networks},
        proceedings={Personal Satellite Services. 4th International ICST Conference, PSATS 2012, Bradford, UK, March 22-23, 2012. Revised Selected Papers},
        proceedings_a={PSATS},
        year={2013},
        month={4},
        keywords={MIH Satellite 3GPP LTE Handover Mobility Test-bed},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-642-36787-8_12}
    }
    
  • Fabrice Arnal
    Riadh Dhaou
    Julien Fasson
    Julien Bernard
    Didier Barvaux
    Emmanuel Dubois
    Patrick Gélard
    Year: 2013
    Handover Management for Hybrid Satellite/Terrestrial Networks
    PSATS
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-642-36787-8_12
Fabrice Arnal1,*, Riadh Dhaou2,*, Julien Fasson2,*, Julien Bernard3,*, Didier Barvaux3,*, Emmanuel Dubois4,*, Patrick Gélard4,*
  • 1: Thales Alenia Space
  • 2: ENSEEIHT / IRIT (Institut de Recherche en Informatique de Toulouse)
  • 3: Viveris Technologies
  • 4: Centre National d’Etudes Spatiales
*Contact email: fabrice.arnal@thalesaleniaspace.com, riadh.dhaou@enseeiht.fr, julien.fasson@enseeiht.fr, julien.bernard@toulouse.viveris.com, didier.barvaux@toulouse.viveris.com, emmanuel.dubois@cnes.fr, patrick.gelard@cnes.fr

Abstract

Initially envisaged to support handover between different wireless 802.x network technologies, the IEEE 802.21 standard also appears as the good candidate for handover management in future integrated satellite / terrestrial systems. This paper presents an analysis of how this standard could be implemented in the frame of a realistic scenario and taking into account the current trends in wireless networks and mobility architectures. Our solution is then evaluated by means of emulation over a DVB-RCS representative testbed, and based on an experimental MIH implementation. We finally show that seamless handover can nearly be achieved with very short service outages.