Intelligent Technologies for Interactive Entertainment. 4th International ICST Conference, INTETAIN 2011, Genova, Italy, May 25-27, 2011, Revised Selected Papers

Research Article

Interacting with Emotional Virtual Agents

Download37 downloads
  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-642-30214-5_31,
        author={Elisabetta Bevacqua and Florian Eyben and Dirk Heylen and Mark Maat and Sathish Pammi and Catherine Pelachaud and Marc Schr\o{}der and Bj\o{}rn Schuller and Etienne Sevin and Martin W\o{}llmer},
        title={Interacting with Emotional Virtual Agents},
        proceedings={Intelligent Technologies for Interactive Entertainment. 4th International ICST Conference, INTETAIN 2011, Genova, Italy, May 25-27, 2011, Revised Selected Papers},
        proceedings_a={INTETAIN},
        year={2012},
        month={10},
        keywords={Embodied Conversational Agents human-machine interaction},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-642-30214-5_31}
    }
    
  • Elisabetta Bevacqua
    Florian Eyben
    Dirk Heylen
    Mark Maat
    Sathish Pammi
    Catherine Pelachaud
    Marc Schröder
    Björn Schuller
    Etienne Sevin
    Martin Wöllmer
    Year: 2012
    Interacting with Emotional Virtual Agents
    INTETAIN
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-642-30214-5_31
Elisabetta Bevacqua1,*, Florian Eyben2,*, Dirk Heylen3,*, Mark Maat3,*, Sathish Pammi4,*, Catherine Pelachaud1,*, Marc Schröder4,*, Björn Schuller2,*, Etienne Sevin5,*, Martin Wöllmer2,*
  • 1: CNRS ParisTech
  • 2: Technische Universität München
  • 3: Universiteit Twente
  • 4: DFKI GmbH
  • 5: Université Pierre et Marie Curie
*Contact email: bevacqua@telecom-paristech.fr, eyben@tum.de, d.k.j.Heylen@ewi.utwente.nl, maatm@ewi.utwente.nl, Sathish_Chandra.Pammi@dfki.de, pelachaud@telecom-paristech.fr, marc.schroeder@dfki.de, schuller@tum.de, etienne.de-sevin@lip6.fr, woe@mmk.e-technik.tu-muenchen.de

Abstract

Sensitive Artificial Listener (SAL) is a multimodal dialogue system which allows users to interact with virtual agents. Four characters with different emotional traits engage users is emotionally coloured interactions. They not only encourage the users into talking but also try to drag them towards specific emotional states. Despite the agents very limited verbal understanding, they are able to react appropriately to the user’s non-verbal behaviour. The demonstrator shows an final version of the fully autonomous SAL system.