Testbeds and Research Infrastructures. Development of Networks and Communities. 6th International ICST Conference, TridentCom 2010, Berlin, Germany, May 18-20, 2010, Revised Selected Papers

Research Article

The Great Plains Environment for Network Innovation (GpENI): A Programmable Testbed for Future Internet Architecture Research

Download84 downloads
  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-642-17851-1_33,
        author={James Sterbenz and Deep Medhi and Byrav Ramamurthy and Caterina Scoglio and David Hutchison and Bernhard Plattner and Tricha Anjali and Andrew Scott and Cort Buffington and Gregory Monaco and Don Gruenbacher and Rick McMullen and Justin Rohrer and John Sherrell and Pragatheeswaran Angu and Ramkumar Cherukuri and Haiyang Qian and Nidhi Tare},
        title={The Great Plains Environment for Network Innovation (GpENI): A Programmable Testbed for Future Internet Architecture Research},
        proceedings={Testbeds and Research Infrastructures. Development of Networks and Communities. 6th International ICST Conference, TridentCom 2010, Berlin, Germany, May 18-20, 2010, Revised Selected Papers},
        proceedings_a={TRIDENTCOM},
        year={2012},
        month={10},
        keywords={programmable Future Internet testbed GENI FIND FIRE PlanetLab VINI DCN ResiliNets PoMo ResumeNet},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-642-17851-1_33}
    }
    
  • James Sterbenz
    Deep Medhi
    Byrav Ramamurthy
    Caterina Scoglio
    David Hutchison
    Bernhard Plattner
    Tricha Anjali
    Andrew Scott
    Cort Buffington
    Gregory Monaco
    Don Gruenbacher
    Rick McMullen
    Justin Rohrer
    John Sherrell
    Pragatheeswaran Angu
    Ramkumar Cherukuri
    Haiyang Qian
    Nidhi Tare
    Year: 2012
    The Great Plains Environment for Network Innovation (GpENI): A Programmable Testbed for Future Internet Architecture Research
    TRIDENTCOM
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-642-17851-1_33
James Sterbenz,*, Deep Medhi1,*, Byrav Ramamurthy2,*, Caterina Scoglio3,*, David Hutchison4,*, Bernhard Plattner5,*, Tricha Anjali6,*, Andrew Scott4,*, Cort Buffington7,*, Gregory Monaco,*, Don Gruenbacher3,*, Rick McMullen8,*, Justin Rohrer8,*, John Sherrell3, Pragatheeswaran Angu2,*, Ramkumar Cherukuri1,*, Haiyang Qian1,*, Nidhi Tare3,*
  • 1: University of Missouri
  • 2: University of Nebraska
  • 3: Kansas State Univ.
  • 4: Lancaster University
  • 5: ETH Zürich
  • 6: Illinois Institute of Technology
  • 7: KanREN
  • 8: The University of Kansas
*Contact email: jpgs@ittc.ku.edu, dmedhi@umkc.edu, byrav@cse.unl.edu, caterina@k-state.edu, dh@comp.lancs.ac.uk, plattner@tik.ee.ethz.ch, tricha@ece.iit.edu, acs@comp.lancs.ac.uk, cort@kanren.net, greg@greatplains.net, grue@k-state.edu, mcmullend@ittc.ku.edu, rohrej@ittc.ku.edu, pangu@cse.unl.edu, rc5gd@umkc.edu, hqian@umkc.edu, ntare@k-state.edu

Abstract

The Great Plains Environment for Network Innovation – GpENI is an international programmable network testbed centered on a regional optical network in the Midwest US, providing flexible infrastructure across the entire protocol stack. The goal of GpENI is to build a collaborative research infrastructure enabling the community to conduct experiments in future Internet architecture. GpENI is funded in part by the US National Science Foundation GENI (Global Environments for Network Innovation) program and by the EU FIRE (Future Internet Research and Experimentation) Programme, and is affiliated with a project funded by the NSF FIND (Future Internet Design) Program.