Testbeds and Research Infrastructures. Development of Networks and Communities. 6th International ICST Conference, TridentCom 2010, Berlin, Germany, May 18-20, 2010, Revised Selected Papers

Research Article

ETOMIC Advanced Network Monitoring System for Future Internet Experimentation

Download
463 downloads
  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-642-17851-1_20,
        author={Istv\^{a}n Csabai and Attila Fekete and P\^{e}ter H\^{a}ga and B\^{e}la Hull\^{a}r and G\^{a}bor Kurucz and S\^{a}ndor Laki and P\^{e}ter M\^{a}tray and J\^{o}zsef St\^{e}ger and G\^{a}bor Vattay and Felix Espina and Santiago Garcia-Jimenez and Mikel Izal and Eduardo Maga\`{o}a and Daniel Morat\^{o} and Javier Aracil and Francisco G\^{o}mez and Ivan Gonzalez and Sergio L\^{o}pez-Buedo and Victor Moreno and Javier Ramos},
        title={ETOMIC Advanced Network Monitoring System for Future Internet Experimentation},
        proceedings={Testbeds and Research Infrastructures. Development of Networks and Communities. 6th International ICST Conference, TridentCom 2010, Berlin, Germany, May 18-20, 2010, Revised Selected Papers},
        proceedings_a={TRIDENTCOM},
        year={2012},
        month={10},
        keywords={ETOMIC network measurement infrastructure active measurements},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-642-17851-1_20}
    }
    
  • István Csabai
    Attila Fekete
    Péter Hága
    Béla Hullár
    Gábor Kurucz
    Sándor Laki
    Péter Mátray
    József Stéger
    Gábor Vattay
    Felix Espina
    Santiago Garcia-Jimenez
    Mikel Izal
    Eduardo Magaña
    Daniel Morató
    Javier Aracil
    Francisco Gómez
    Ivan Gonzalez
    Sergio López-Buedo
    Victor Moreno
    Javier Ramos
    Year: 2012
    ETOMIC Advanced Network Monitoring System for Future Internet Experimentation
    TRIDENTCOM
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-642-17851-1_20
István Csabai1,*, Attila Fekete1,*, Péter Hága1,*, Béla Hullár1,*, Gábor Kurucz1,*, Sándor Laki1,*, Péter Mátray1,*, József Stéger1,*, Gábor Vattay1,*, Felix Espina2,*, Santiago Garcia-Jimenez2,*, Mikel Izal2,*, Eduardo Magaña2,*, Daniel Morató2,*, Javier Aracil3,*, Francisco Gómez3,*, Ivan Gonzalez3,*, Sergio López-Buedo3,*, Victor Moreno3,*, Javier Ramos3,*
  • 1: Eötvös Loránd Univeristy
  • 2: Universidad Pública de Navarra
  • 3: Universidad Autonóma de Madrid
*Contact email: csabai@etomic.org, fekete@etomic.org, haga@etomic.org, hullar@etomic.org, kurucz@etomic.org, laki@etomic.org, matray@etomic.org, steger@etomic.org, vattay@etomic.org, felix.espina@etomic.org, santiago.garcia@etomic.org, mikel.izal@etomic.org, eduardo.magana@etomic.org, daniel.morato@etomic.org, javier.aracil@etomic.org, francisco.gomez@etomic.org, ivan.gonzalez@etomic.org, sergio.lopez-buedo@etomic.org, victor.moreno@etomic.org, javier.ramos@etomic.org

Abstract

ETOMIC is a network traffic measurement platform with high precision GPS-synchronized monitoring nodes. The infrastructure is publicly available to the network research community, supporting advanced experimental techniques by providing high precision hardware equipments and a Central Management System. Researchers can deploy their own active measurement codes to perform experiments on the public Internet. Recently, the functionalities of the original system were significantly extended and new generation measurement nodes were deployed. The system now also includes well structured data repositories to archive and share raw and evaluated data. These features make ETOMIC as one of the experimental facilities that support the design, development and validation of novel experimental techniques for the future Internet. In this paper we focus on the improved capabilities of the management system, the recent extensions of the node architecture and the accompanying database solutions.