1st International ICST Workshop on Innovative Mobile User Interactivity

Research Article

: A Personalized Tour Guide and Navigational Assistant

Download
493 downloads
  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-642-12607-9_30,
        author={Dheeraj Kota and Neha Laumas and Urmila Shinde and Saurabh Sonalkar and Karthik Dantu and Sameera Poduri and Gaurav Sukhatme},
        title={
                  : A Personalized Tour Guide and Navigational Assistant },
        proceedings={1st International ICST Workshop on Innovative Mobile User  Interactivity},
        proceedings_a={IMUI},
        year={2012},
        month={10},
        keywords={},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-642-12607-9_30}
    }
    
  • Dheeraj Kota
    Neha Laumas
    Urmila Shinde
    Saurabh Sonalkar
    Karthik Dantu
    Sameera Poduri
    Gaurav Sukhatme
    Year: 2012
    : A Personalized Tour Guide and Navigational Assistant
    IMUI
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-642-12607-9_30
Dheeraj Kota1,*, Neha Laumas1,*, Urmila Shinde1,*, Saurabh Sonalkar1,*, Karthik Dantu1,*, Sameera Poduri1,*, Gaurav Sukhatme,*
  • 1: University of Southern California
*Contact email: dkota@usc.edu, laumas@usc.edu, ushinde@usc.edu, sonalkar@usc.edu, dantu@usc.edu, sameera@usc.edu, gaurav@usc.edu

Abstract

Mobile phones have become ubiquitous in daily life. They are also becoming more powerful with more computation and a variety of sensors embedded in them. We have built , a context-aware phone-based navigational aid. The application provides turn-by-turn directions from the user’s current location to a requested destination. It provides information about the surroundings by processing the images taken by the camera on the phone. It enables a novel user interface with the ability of using the phone as a remote to point at buildings to get further information about a particular floor within the building. Lastly, the application uses user feedback to control how much information is presented to the user.