1st International ICST Workshop on Innovative Mobile User Interactivity

Research Article

Coarse In-Building Localization with Smartphones

Download
356 downloads
  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-642-12607-9_25,
        author={Avinash Parnandi and Ken Le and Pradeep Vaghela and Aalaya Kolli and Karthik Dantu and Sameera Poduri and Gaurav Sukhatme},
        title={Coarse In-Building Localization with Smartphones},
        proceedings={1st International ICST Workshop on Innovative Mobile User  Interactivity},
        proceedings_a={IMUI},
        year={2012},
        month={10},
        keywords={},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-642-12607-9_25}
    }
    
  • Avinash Parnandi
    Ken Le
    Pradeep Vaghela
    Aalaya Kolli
    Karthik Dantu
    Sameera Poduri
    Gaurav Sukhatme
    Year: 2012
    Coarse In-Building Localization with Smartphones
    IMUI
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-642-12607-9_25
Avinash Parnandi1,*, Ken Le2,*, Pradeep Vaghela2,*, Aalaya Kolli1,*, Karthik Dantu2,*, Sameera Poduri2,*, Gaurav Sukhatme,*
  • 1: University of Southern California
  • 2: Computer Science Department
*Contact email: parnandi@usc.edu, hienle@usc.edu, pvaghela@usc.edu, kolli@usc.edu, dantu@usc.edu, sameera@usc.edu, gaurav@usc.edu

Abstract

Geographic location of a person is important contextual information that can be used in a variety of scenarios like disaster relief, directional assistance, context-based advertisements, . GPS provides accurate localization outdoors but is not useful inside buildings. We propose an coarse indoor localization approach that exploits the ubiquity of smart phones with embedded sensors. GPS is used to find the building in which the user is present. The Accelerometers are used to recognize the user’s dynamic activities (going up or down stairs or an elevator) to determine his/her location within the building. We demonstrate the ability to estimate the floor-level of a user. We compare two techniques for activity classification, one is naive Bayes classifier and the other is based on dynamic time warping. The design and implementation of a localization application on the HTC G1 platform running Google Android is also presented.