Mobile Computing, Applications, and Services. First International ICST Conference, MobiCASE 2009, San Diego, CA, USA, October 26-29, 2009, Revised Selected Papers

Research Article

Mobile Visual Analytics for Datacenter Power and Cooling Management

Download92 downloads
  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-642-12607-9_11,
        author={Ratnesh Sharma and Ming Hao and Ravigopal Vennelakanti and Manish Gupta and Umeshwar Dayal and Cullen Bash and Chandrakant Patel and Deepa Naik and A. Jayakumar and Sairabanu Ganihar and Ramesh Munusamy and Vani Mohan},
        title={Mobile Visual Analytics for Datacenter Power and Cooling Management},
        proceedings={Mobile Computing, Applications, and Services. First International ICST Conference, MobiCASE 2009, San Diego, CA, USA, October 26-29, 2009, Revised Selected Papers},
        proceedings_a={MOBICASE},
        year={2012},
        month={10},
        keywords={Visual Analytics Sensors Data center Thermal Management Data mining},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-642-12607-9_11}
    }
    
  • Ratnesh Sharma
    Ming Hao
    Ravigopal Vennelakanti
    Manish Gupta
    Umeshwar Dayal
    Cullen Bash
    Chandrakant Patel
    Deepa Naik
    A. Jayakumar
    Sairabanu Ganihar
    Ramesh Munusamy
    Vani Mohan
    Year: 2012
    Mobile Visual Analytics for Datacenter Power and Cooling Management
    MOBICASE
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-642-12607-9_11
Ratnesh Sharma1,*, Ming Hao1,*, Ravigopal Vennelakanti1,*, Manish Gupta1,*, Umeshwar Dayal1,*, Cullen Bash1,*, Chandrakant Patel1,*, Deepa Naik1,*, A. Jayakumar1,*, Sairabanu Ganihar1,*, Ramesh Munusamy1,*, Vani Mohan1,*
  • 1: 1501 Page Mill Road, Hewlett-Packard Co. Laboratories
*Contact email: ratnesh.sharma@hp.com, ming.hao@hp.com, ravigopal.vennelakanti@hp.com, manish.gupta@hp.com, umeshwar.dayal@hp.com, cullen.bash@hp.com, chandrakant.patel@hp.com, deepa.naik@hp.com, jayakumara@hp.com, sairabanu-z.ganihar@hp.com, ramesh.munuswamy@hp.com, vanim@hp.com

Abstract

The demand for data center solutions with lower total cost of ownership and lower complexity of management is driving the creation of next generation datacenters. The information technology industry is in the midst of a transformation to lower the cost of operation through consolidation and better utilization of critical data center resources. Successful consolidation necessitates increasing utilization of capital intensive “always-on” data center infrastructure, reduction in the recurring cost of power and management of physical resources. In this paper, we describe a tool that allows the data center facility managers and administrators to view and analyze the Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) associated with their data centers using pixel cell-based [10,11] visual analytics. The basic idea of our technique is to use the smallest element in the display to present the detailed information of the poser and thermal data records. Administrators can quickly recognize the patterns, trends, and anomalies. Furthermore, we discuss case studies of mobile visual analytics for energy and thermal state monitoring utilizing data from a rich sensor network.