Access Networks. 4th International Conference, AccessNets 2009, Hong Kong, China, November 1-3, 2009, Revised Selected Papers

Research Article

Influence of Technical Improvements on the Business Case for a Mobile WiMAX Network

Download
469 downloads
  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-642-11664-3_5,
        author={Bart Lannoo and Jeffrey Bruyne and Wout Joseph and Jan Ooteghem and Emmeric Tanghe and Didier Colle and Luc Martens and Mario Pickavet and Piet Demeester},
        title={Influence of Technical Improvements on the Business Case for a Mobile WiMAX Network},
        proceedings={Access Networks. 4th International Conference, AccessNets 2009, Hong Kong, China, November 1-3, 2009, Revised Selected Papers},
        proceedings_a={ACCESSNETS},
        year={2012},
        month={10},
        keywords={Broadband Wireless Communication WiMAX 802.16e-2005 Mobility Business Case Techno-economic Analysis},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-642-11664-3_5}
    }
    
  • Bart Lannoo
    Jeffrey Bruyne
    Wout Joseph
    Jan Ooteghem
    Emmeric Tanghe
    Didier Colle
    Luc Martens
    Mario Pickavet
    Piet Demeester
    Year: 2012
    Influence of Technical Improvements on the Business Case for a Mobile WiMAX Network
    ACCESSNETS
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-642-11664-3_5
Bart Lannoo1,*, Jeffrey Bruyne1,*, Wout Joseph1,*, Jan Ooteghem1,*, Emmeric Tanghe1,*, Didier Colle1,*, Luc Martens1,*, Mario Pickavet1,*, Piet Demeester1,*
  • 1: Ghent University – IBBT
*Contact email: bart.lannoo@intec.ugent.be, jeffrey.debruyne@intec.ugent.be, wout.joseph@intec.ugent.be, jan.vanooteghem@intec.ugent.be, emmeric.tanghe@intec.ugent.be, didier.colle@intec.ugent.be, luc.martens@intec.ugent.be, mario.pickavet@intec.ugent.be, piet.demeester@intec.ugent.be

Abstract

From a technical point of view, Mobile WiMAX may offer an appropriate solution for delivering broadband wireless access. Two remaining questions, however, are whether the rollout of a WiMAX network is economically feasible or not, and how technical improvements like MIMO, beamforming and turbo-coding can influence the business case. In this paper different technical scenarios for a Mobile WiMAX rollout are defined and evaluated from an economic as well as a technical perspective. To obtain realistic figures, we have defined a business case for a Mobile WiMAX rollout in Belgium, a country with a high wired broadband penetration. Further, we give an indication about the feasibility of a Mobile WiMAX network related to the population density. Finally, as the introduction of a new technology involves a lot of uncertainties, a detailed sensitivity analysis on both the economic and technical input parameters is performed to determine the most influencing parameters.