Autonomic Computing and Communications Systems. Third International ICST Conference, Autonomics 2009, Limassol, Cyprus, September 9-11, 2009, Revised Selected Papers

Research Article

Context-Aware Self-optimization in Multiparty Converged Mobile Environments

Download
377 downloads
  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-642-11482-3_10,
        author={Josephine Antoniou and Christophoros Christophorou and Augusto Neto and Susana Sargento and Filipe Pinto and Nuno Carapeto and Telma Mota and Jose Simoes and Andreas Pitsillides},
        title={Context-Aware Self-optimization in Multiparty Converged Mobile Environments},
        proceedings={Autonomic Computing and Communications Systems. Third International ICST Conference, Autonomics 2009, Limassol, Cyprus, September 9-11, 2009, Revised Selected Papers},
        proceedings_a={AUTONOMICS},
        year={2012},
        month={4},
        keywords={Context-awareness self-optimization multiparty sub-grouping convergence session \& network management},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-642-11482-3_10}
    }
    
  • Josephine Antoniou
    Christophoros Christophorou
    Augusto Neto
    Susana Sargento
    Filipe Pinto
    Nuno Carapeto
    Telma Mota
    Jose Simoes
    Andreas Pitsillides
    Year: 2012
    Context-Aware Self-optimization in Multiparty Converged Mobile Environments
    AUTONOMICS
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-642-11482-3_10
Josephine Antoniou1,*, Christophoros Christophorou1,*, Augusto Neto,*, Susana Sargento2,*, Filipe Pinto3,*, Nuno Carapeto3,*, Telma Mota3,*, Jose Simoes4,*, Andreas Pitsillides1,*
  • 1: University of Cyprus
  • 2: Univerity of Aveiro
  • 3: PT Inovação
  • 4: Fraunhofer FOKUS
*Contact email: josephin@cs.ucy.ac.cy, christophoros@cs.ucy.ac.cy, augusto@av.it.pt, susana@ua.pt, filipe-c-pinto@ptinovacao.pt, nuno-f-carapeto@ptinovacao.pt, telma@ptinovacao.pt, jose.simoes@fokus.fraunhofer.de, andreas.pitsillides@cs.ucy.ac.cy

Abstract

The increase of networking complexity requires the design of new performance optimization schemes for delivering different types of sessions to users under different conditions. In this scope, special attention is given to multi-homed environments, where mobile devices cross areas with overlapping access technologies (Wi-Fi, 3G, WiMax). In such scenario, efficient multiparty delivery depends upon the grouping operation (creation of a set of users to receive a given session), which must be done based on several parameters. We propose sub-grouping of content-based service groups, so that the same service session can be delivered using different codings of the same content, to adapt to the current network, users, session and environment context. The context-aware information is used to improve the sub-grouping process. This paper aims to describe these sub-grouping techniques, in particular how they improve network performance and user experience in the future Internet, in the scope of cognitive autonomic networks.