Wireless and Satellite Systems. 9th International Conference, WiSATS 2017, Oxford, UK, September 14-15, 2017, Proceedings

Research Article

Architectural Design of the Q/V Band Site Diversity Experiment Between Austria and Hungary

  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-319-76571-6_18,
        author={Michael Schmidt and Laszlo Csurgai-Horvath and Peter Horvath and Balint Horvath and Antonio Martellucci and Juan Castro},
        title={Architectural Design of the Q/V Band Site Diversity Experiment Between Austria and Hungary},
        proceedings={Wireless and Satellite Systems. 9th International Conference, WiSATS 2017, Oxford, UK, September 14-15, 2017, Proceedings},
        proceedings_a={WISATS},
        year={2018},
        month={3},
        keywords={Q/V band Site diversity Availability Satellite ground-station design},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-319-76571-6_18}
    }
    
  • Michael Schmidt
    Laszlo Csurgai-Horvath
    Peter Horvath
    Balint Horvath
    Antonio Martellucci
    Juan Castro
    Year: 2018
    Architectural Design of the Q/V Band Site Diversity Experiment Between Austria and Hungary
    WISATS
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-319-76571-6_18
Michael Schmidt1,*, Laszlo Csurgai-Horvath2,*, Peter Horvath2,*, Balint Horvath2,*, Antonio Martellucci3,*, Juan Castro3,*
  • 1: Joanneum Research
  • 2: Budapest University of Technology and Economics
  • 3: ESTEC
*Contact email: Michael.schmidt@joanneum.at, laszlo.csurgai@hvt.bme.hu, peter.horvath@hvt.bme.hu, balint.horvath@hvt.bme.hu, Antonio.Martellucci@esa.int, Juan.Rivera.Castro@esa.int

Abstract

The architectural design of the Q/V band site diversity experiment between the transmit/receive ground station in Graz/Austria and the receive only ground station in Budapest is described in this paper. The ground station Budapest is connected via Internet to transfer information about the reception quality of the received signals and to request to adjust the modulation and coding. The uplink power is controlled by the station in Graz, based on the local received beacon signal from the satellite. The planed experiments and the expected results are described in the final paragraph of this paper.