Wireless and Satellite Systems. 9th International Conference, WiSATS 2017, Oxford, UK, September 14-15, 2017, Proceedings

Research Article

UAVs and UAV Swarms for Civilian Applications: Communications and Image Processing in the SCIADRO Project

  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-319-76571-6_12,
        author={Manlio Bacco and Stefano Chessa and Marco Benedetto and Davide Fabbri and Michele Girolami and Alberto Gotta and Davide Moroni and Maria Pascali and Vincenzo Pellegrini},
        title={UAVs and UAV Swarms for Civilian Applications: Communications and Image Processing in the SCIADRO Project},
        proceedings={Wireless and Satellite Systems. 9th International Conference, WiSATS 2017, Oxford, UK, September 14-15, 2017, Proceedings},
        proceedings_a={WISATS},
        year={2018},
        month={3},
        keywords={UAV Swarm Multipath Crowd-sensing Imaging},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-319-76571-6_12}
    }
    
  • Manlio Bacco
    Stefano Chessa
    Marco Benedetto
    Davide Fabbri
    Michele Girolami
    Alberto Gotta
    Davide Moroni
    Maria Pascali
    Vincenzo Pellegrini
    Year: 2018
    UAVs and UAV Swarms for Civilian Applications: Communications and Image Processing in the SCIADRO Project
    WISATS
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-319-76571-6_12
Manlio Bacco1,*, Stefano Chessa2,*, Marco Benedetto1,*, Davide Fabbri3,*, Michele Girolami1,*, Alberto Gotta1,*, Davide Moroni1,*, Maria Pascali1,*, Vincenzo Pellegrini3,*
  • 1: Institute of Information Science and Technologies (ISTI) of National Research Council (CNR)
  • 2: University of Pisa
  • 3: I.D.S. S.p.A.
*Contact email: manlio.bacco@isti.cnr.it, stefano.chessa@unipi.it, marco.dibenedetto@isti.cnr.it, d.fabbri@idscorporation.com, michele.girolami@isti.cnr.it, alberto.gotta@isti.cnr.it, davide.moroni@isti.cnr.it, maria.antonietta.pascali@isti.cnr.it, v.pellegrini@idscorporation.com

Abstract

The use of unmanned aerial systems is increasingly common in both research and industrial fields. Nowadays, the use of single unmanned aerial vehicles is quite established and several products are already available to consumers, while swarms are still subject of research and development. This work describes the objectives of a research project, namely , which deals with innovative applications and network architectures based on the use of single unmanned aerial vehicles and of swarms in several civilian fields.