Pervasive Computing Paradigms for Mental Health. Selected Papers from MindCare 2016, Fabulous 2016, and IIoT 2015

Research Article

COLLEGO: An Interactive Platform for Studying Joint Action During an Ecological Collaboration Task

Download35 downloads
  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-319-74935-8_9,
        author={Alice Chirico and Serena Graziosi and Francesco Ferrise and Alberto Gallace and Cedric Mosconi and Marie Cazzaniga and Valentino Zurloni and Massimiliano Elia and Francesco Cerritelli and Fabrizia Mantovani and Alessandro D’Ausilio and Pietro Cipresso and Giuseppe Riva and Andrea Gaggioli},
        title={COLLEGO: An Interactive Platform for Studying Joint Action During an Ecological Collaboration Task},
        proceedings={Pervasive Computing Paradigms for Mental Health. Selected Papers from MindCare 2016, Fabulous 2016, and IIoT 2015},
        proceedings_a={MINDCARE \& IIOT \& FABULOUS},
        year={2018},
        month={3},
        keywords={Human-human interaction Joint action Synchronization Performance Time-series analysis Sensors},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-319-74935-8_9}
    }
    
  • Alice Chirico
    Serena Graziosi
    Francesco Ferrise
    Alberto Gallace
    Cedric Mosconi
    Marie Cazzaniga
    Valentino Zurloni
    Massimiliano Elia
    Francesco Cerritelli
    Fabrizia Mantovani
    Alessandro D’Ausilio
    Pietro Cipresso
    Giuseppe Riva
    Andrea Gaggioli
    Year: 2018
    COLLEGO: An Interactive Platform for Studying Joint Action During an Ecological Collaboration Task
    MINDCARE & IIOT & FABULOUS
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-319-74935-8_9
Alice Chirico1,*, Serena Graziosi2,*, Francesco Ferrise2,*, Alberto Gallace3,*, Cedric Mosconi3,*, Marie Cazzaniga3,*, Valentino Zurloni,*, Massimiliano Elia4,*, Francesco Cerritelli,*, Fabrizia Mantovani,*, Alessandro D’Ausilio5,*, Pietro Cipresso,*, Giuseppe Riva,*, Andrea Gaggioli,*
  • 1: Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore
  • 2: Politecnico di Milano
  • 3: University of Milano Bicocca
  • 4: University of Milano-Bicocca
  • 5: IIT - Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia - CTNSC@UniFe
*Contact email: alice.chirco@unicatt.it, serena.graziosi@polimi.it, francesco.ferrise@polimi.it, alberto.gallace1@unimib.it, c.mosconi3@campus.unimib.it, m.cazzaniga24@campus.unimib.it, valentino.zurloni@unimib.it, m.elia5@campus.unimib.it, francesco.cerritelli@gmail.com, fabrizia.mantovani@unimib.it, alessandro.dausilio@iit.it, pietro.cipresso@unicatt.it, giuseppe.riva@unicatt.it, andrea.gaggioli@unicatt.it

Abstract

We describe the implementation and preliminary validation of an interactive platform – COLLEGO – to investigate joint action in a goal-oriented collaborative task. The platform records the interaction sequence of two partners alternating their leader/follower role. Two sensitized wooden surfaces are placed in front of each participant, who can use 6 cubes to build the tower. Any time a cube is picked/released, time stamp (ms) and position of selected objects are recorded. A case study showing how data are collected and analyzed to study dyad performance during the task is described. Finally, potential applications of the proposed solution are discussed.