Smart Objects and Technologies for Social Good. Second International Conference, GOODTECHS 2016, Venice, Italy, November 30 – December 1, 2016, Proceedings

Research Article

Design and Evaluation of an ICT Platform for Cognitive Stimulation of Alzheimer’s Disease Patients

Download
234 downloads
  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-319-61949-1_12,
        author={Andrea Caroppo and Alessandro Leone and Pietro Siciliano and Daniele Sancarlo and Grazia D’Onofrio and Antonio Greco and Gianfranco Borrelli and Paolo Casacci and Massimo Pistoia},
        title={Design and Evaluation of an ICT Platform for Cognitive Stimulation of Alzheimer’s Disease Patients},
        proceedings={Smart Objects and Technologies for Social Good. Second International Conference, GOODTECHS 2016, Venice, Italy, November 30 -- December 1, 2016, Proceedings},
        proceedings_a={GOODTECHS},
        year={2017},
        month={7},
        keywords={ICT platform Smart sensors Cognitive stimulation Rehabilitation practice Alzheimer’s disease},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-319-61949-1_12}
    }
    
  • Andrea Caroppo
    Alessandro Leone
    Pietro Siciliano
    Daniele Sancarlo
    Grazia D’Onofrio
    Antonio Greco
    Gianfranco Borrelli
    Paolo Casacci
    Massimo Pistoia
    Year: 2017
    Design and Evaluation of an ICT Platform for Cognitive Stimulation of Alzheimer’s Disease Patients
    GOODTECHS
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-319-61949-1_12
Andrea Caroppo1,*, Alessandro Leone1,*, Pietro Siciliano1,*, Daniele Sancarlo2,*, Grazia D’Onofrio2,*, Antonio Greco2,*, Gianfranco Borrelli3,*, Paolo Casacci3,*, Massimo Pistoia3,*
  • 1: National Research Council of Italy
  • 2: IRCCS “Casa Sollievo della Sofferenza”
  • 3: eResult s.r.l.
*Contact email: andrea.caroppo@le.imm.cnr.it, alessandro.leone@le.imm.cnr.it, pietro.siciliano@le.imm.cnr.it, d.sancarlo@operapadrepio.it, g.donofrio@operapadrepio.it, a.greco@operapadrepio.it, gianfranco.borrelli@eresult.it, paolo.casacci@eresult.it, massimo.pistoia@eresult.it

Abstract

Cognitive Stimulation aims to improve cognitive skills and quality of life for people with dementia by helping to reduce the functional disability resulting from damage to the brain. Recent studies suggest that this kind of treatment is effective, but it is not yet possible to demonstrate that leads to changes in behavior or in the patient’s lifestyle. The present work investigates the impact and the effectiveness of an information and communications technology platform able to allow the cognitive stimulation practice within a domestic environment. The platform is made up of a set-top-box connected to a TV monitor, a Microsoft Kinect sensor and a (optional) smart garment for clinical signs detection. Preliminary results, achieved after the tests performed on patients with mild to moderate Alzheimer, demonstrates that the aforementioned platform is a very useful tool able to increase the neuropsychiatric and cognitive state of the patient.