Wireless Mobile Communication and Healthcare. 6th International Conference, MobiHealth 2016, Milan, Italy, November 14-16, 2016, Proceedings

Research Article

Non-conventional Use of Smartphones: Remote Monitoring Powered Wheelchairs in MARINER Project

Download
219 downloads
  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-319-58877-3_18,
        author={Paolo Meriggi and Ivana Olivieri and Cristina Fedeli and Diana Scurati and Giovanni Montagnani and Elena Brazzoli and Marina Rodocanachi and Lucia Angelini},
        title={Non-conventional Use of Smartphones: Remote Monitoring Powered Wheelchairs in MARINER Project},
        proceedings={Wireless Mobile Communication and Healthcare. 6th International Conference, MobiHealth 2016, Milan, Italy, November 14-16, 2016, Proceedings},
        proceedings_a={MOBIHEALTH},
        year={2017},
        month={6},
        keywords={Quantitative remote monitoring Powered wheelchair Smartphones Cloud},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-319-58877-3_18}
    }
    
  • Paolo Meriggi
    Ivana Olivieri
    Cristina Fedeli
    Diana Scurati
    Giovanni Montagnani
    Elena Brazzoli
    Marina Rodocanachi
    Lucia Angelini
    Year: 2017
    Non-conventional Use of Smartphones: Remote Monitoring Powered Wheelchairs in MARINER Project
    MOBIHEALTH
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-319-58877-3_18
Paolo Meriggi1,*, Ivana Olivieri1,*, Cristina Fedeli1,*, Diana Scurati1,*, Giovanni Montagnani2,*, Elena Brazzoli1,*, Marina Rodocanachi1,*, Lucia Angelini1,*
  • 1: Fondazione Don Carlo Gnocchi Onlus, Centro S.M. Nascente
  • 2: Politecnico di Milano and Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare
*Contact email: pmeriggi@dongnocchi.it, iolivieri@dongnocchi.it, cfedeli@dongnocchi.it, dscurati@dongnocchi.it, giovanniludovico.montagnani@polimi.it, ebrazzoli@dongnocchi.it, mrodocanachi@dongnocchi.it, langelini@dongnocchi.it

Abstract

In this paper we will present the prototype of a system meant to quantitatively and continuously monitor the information measured during the daily use of powered wheelchairs, early adopted by severely impaired children. The system is based on a non-conventional use of a common smartphone, and it may represent an interesting application for long-term remote monitoring of health-related information.