Internet of Things Technologies for HealthCare. Third International Conference, HealthyIoT 2016, Västerås, Sweden, October 18-19, 2016, Revised Selected Papers

Research Article

Ecare@Home: A Distributed Research Environment on Semantic Interoperability

Download
214 downloads
  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-319-51234-1_1,
        author={Amy Loutfi and Arne J\o{}nsson and Lars Karlsson and Leili Lind and Maria Linden and Federico Pecora and Thiemo Voigt},
        title={Ecare@Home: A Distributed Research Environment on Semantic Interoperability},
        proceedings={Internet of Things Technologies for HealthCare. Third International Conference, HealthyIoT 2016, V\aa{}ster\ae{}s, Sweden, October 18-19, 2016, Revised Selected Papers},
        proceedings_a={HEALTHYIOT},
        year={2017},
        month={1},
        keywords={Semantic interoperability Configuration planning Health and care Internet of Things},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-319-51234-1_1}
    }
    
  • Amy Loutfi
    Arne Jönsson
    Lars Karlsson
    Leili Lind
    Maria Linden
    Federico Pecora
    Thiemo Voigt
    Year: 2017
    Ecare@Home: A Distributed Research Environment on Semantic Interoperability
    HEALTHYIOT
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-319-51234-1_1
Amy Loutfi1,*, Arne Jönsson2,*, Lars Karlsson1,*, Leili Lind2,*, Maria Linden3,*, Federico Pecora1,*, Thiemo Voigt4,*
  • 1: Örebro University
  • 2: SICS East
  • 3: Mälardalen University
  • 4: SICS ICT
*Contact email: amy.loutfi@oru.se, arne.jonsson@sics.se, lars.karlsson@oru.se, leili.lind@sics.se, maria.linden@mdh.se, federico.pecora@oru.se, thiemo.voigt@sics.se

Abstract

This paper presents the motivation and challenges to developing semantic interoperability for an internet of things network that is used in the context of home based care. The paper describes a research environment which examines these challenges and illustrates the motivation through a scenario whereby a network of devices in the home is used to provide high-level information about elderly patients by leveraging from techniques in context awareness, automated reasoning, and configuration planning.