Ad Hoc Networks. 8th International Conference, ADHOCNETS 2016, Ottawa, Canada, September 26-27, 2016, Revised Selected Papers

Research Article

SDN Coordination for CCN and FC Content Dissemination in VANETs

Download
441 downloads
  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-319-51204-4_18,
        author={Ridha Soua and Eirini Kalogeiton and Gaetano Manzo and Joao Duarte and Maria Palattella and Antonio Maio and Torsten Braun and Thomas Engel and Leandro Villas and Gianluca Rizzo},
        title={SDN Coordination for CCN and FC Content Dissemination in VANETs},
        proceedings={Ad Hoc Networks. 8th International Conference, ADHOCNETS 2016, Ottawa, Canada, September 26-27, 2016, Revised Selected Papers},
        proceedings_a={ADHOCNETS},
        year={2017},
        month={4},
        keywords={VANETs Software defined networking Content centric networking Floating content Content caching and replication},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-319-51204-4_18}
    }
    
  • Ridha Soua
    Eirini Kalogeiton
    Gaetano Manzo
    Joao Duarte
    Maria Palattella
    Antonio Maio
    Torsten Braun
    Thomas Engel
    Leandro Villas
    Gianluca Rizzo
    Year: 2017
    SDN Coordination for CCN and FC Content Dissemination in VANETs
    ADHOCNETS
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-319-51204-4_18
Ridha Soua1,*, Eirini Kalogeiton2,*, Gaetano Manzo,*, Joao Duarte,*, Maria Palattella1,*, Antonio Maio1,*, Torsten Braun2,*, Thomas Engel1,*, Leandro Villas3,*, Gianluca Rizzo4,*
  • 1: University of Luxembourg
  • 2: University of Bern
  • 3: University of Campinas
  • 4: HES-SO
*Contact email: ridha.soua@uni.lu, kalogeiton@inf.unibe.ch, gaetano.manzo@hevs.ch, duarte@inf.unibe.ch, maria-rita.palattella@uni.lu, antonio.dimaio@uni.lu, braun@inf.unibe.ch, thomas.engel@uni.lu, leandro@ic.unicamp.br, gianluca.rizzo@hevs.ch

Abstract

Content dissemination in Vehicular Ad-hoc Networks has a myriad of applications, ranging from advertising and parking notifications, to traffic and emergency warnings. This heterogeneity requires optimizing content storing, retrieval and forwarding among vehicles to deliver data with short latency and without jeopardizing network resources. In this paper, for a few reference scenarios, we illustrate how approaches that combine Content Centric Networking (CCN) and Floating Content (FC) enable new and efficient solutions to this issue. Moreover, we describe how a network architecture based on Software Defined Networking (SDN) can support both CCN and FC by coordinating distributed caching strategies, by optimizing the packet forwarding process and the availability of floating data items. For each scenario analyzed, we highlight the main research challenges open, and we describe a few possible solutions.