eHealth 360°. International Summit on eHealth, Budapest, Hungary, June 14-16, 2016, Revised Selected Papers

Research Article

Usability and Fun of the INTERACCT Client

Download
241 downloads
  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-319-49655-9_21,
        author={Helmut Hlavacs and Rebecca W\o{}lfle and Konrad Peters and Daniel Martinek and Jens Kuczwara and Fares Kayali and Andrea Reithofer and Ruth Mateus-Berr and Barbara Brunmair and Zsuzsanna Lehner and Anita Lawitschka},
        title={Usability and Fun of the INTERACCT Client},
        proceedings={eHealth 360°. International Summit on eHealth, Budapest, Hungary, June 14-16, 2016, Revised Selected Papers},
        proceedings_a={EHEALTH360},
        year={2017},
        month={1},
        keywords={},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-319-49655-9_21}
    }
    
  • Helmut Hlavacs
    Rebecca Wölfle
    Konrad Peters
    Daniel Martinek
    Jens Kuczwara
    Fares Kayali
    Andrea Reithofer
    Ruth Mateus-Berr
    Barbara Brunmair
    Zsuzsanna Lehner
    Anita Lawitschka
    Year: 2017
    Usability and Fun of the INTERACCT Client
    EHEALTH360
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-319-49655-9_21
Helmut Hlavacs1,*, Rebecca Wölfle1,*, Konrad Peters1,*, Daniel Martinek1,*, Jens Kuczwara2,*, Fares Kayali2,*, Andrea Reithofer2,*, Ruth Mateus-Berr2,*, Barbara Brunmair3,*, Zsuzsanna Lehner3,*, Anita Lawitschka3,*
  • 1: University of Vienna
  • 2: University of Applied Arts Vienna
  • 3: St. Anna Children’s Cancer Research Institute
*Contact email: helmut.hlavacs@univie.ac.at, rwoelfle@gmail.com, konrad.peters@univie.ac.at, daniel.martinek@univie.ac.at, jens.kuczwara@gmail.com, fares@igw.tuwien.ac.at, AndreaReithofer@gmx.at, ruth.mateus-berr@uni-ak.ac.at, barbara.brunmair@ccri.at, Susanne79@gmx.at, anita.lawitschka@stanna.at

Abstract

We present the INTERACCT system, a smartphone app and a Web page for fostering communication between young patients in aftercare after a stem cell transplantation. In this phase of rehabilitation, daily communication between the patients and their clinicians is key for detecting upcoming possibly deadly crises as early as possible. The app consists of a communication part, a gaming part, a module for daily medicine, and a daily story for further motivation. We describe the system as well as an evaluation of the app with several healthy children.