Wireless and Satellite Systems. 7th International Conference, WiSATS 2015 Bradford, UK, July 6–7, 2015, Revised Selected Papers

Research Article

Capacity Enhancing Techniques for High Throughput Satellite Communications

Download205 downloads
  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-319-25479-1_6,
        author={Svilen Dimitrov and Stefan Erl and Benjamin Barth and Rosalba Suffritti and Niccol\^{o} Privitera and Gabriele Boccolini and Adegbenga Awoseyila and Argyrios Kyrgiazos and Barry Evans and Stephan Jaeckel and Bel\^{e}n S\^{a}nchez and Ana Garcia and Oriol Vidal},
        title={Capacity Enhancing Techniques for High Throughput Satellite Communications},
        proceedings={Wireless and Satellite Systems. 7th International Conference, WiSATS 2015 Bradford, UK, July 6--7, 2015, Revised Selected Papers},
        proceedings_a={WISATS},
        year={2015},
        month={10},
        keywords={Satellite communications Interference management Radio resource management Spectral and power efficiencies},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-319-25479-1_6}
    }
    
  • Svilen Dimitrov
    Stefan Erl
    Benjamin Barth
    Rosalba Suffritti
    Niccoló Privitera
    Gabriele Boccolini
    Adegbenga Awoseyila
    Argyrios Kyrgiazos
    Barry Evans
    Stephan Jaeckel
    Belén Sánchez
    Ana Garcia
    Oriol Vidal
    Year: 2015
    Capacity Enhancing Techniques for High Throughput Satellite Communications
    WISATS
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-319-25479-1_6
Svilen Dimitrov1,*, Stefan Erl1,*, Benjamin Barth1,*, Rosalba Suffritti2,*, Niccoló Privitera2,*, Gabriele Boccolini3,*, Adegbenga Awoseyila4,*, Argyrios Kyrgiazos4,*, Barry Evans4,*, Stephan Jaeckel5,*, Belén Sánchez6,*, Ana Garcia6,*, Oriol Vidal7,*
  • 1: German Aerospace Center (DLR)
  • 2: Mavigex S.r.l., ICT Solutions
  • 3: Galician R&D Center in Advanced Telecommunications (GRADIANT)
  • 4: University of Surrey
  • 5: Fraunhofer Heinrich Hertz Institute
  • 6: Thales Alenia Space Espana
  • 7: Airbus Defence and Space
*Contact email: svilen.dimitrov@dlr.de, stefan.erl@dlr.de, benjamin.barth@dlr.de, rsuffritti@mavigex.com, niccolo.privitera@mavigex.com, gboccolini@gradiant.org, a.awoseyila@surrey.ac.uk, a.kyrgiazos@surrey.ac.uk, b.evans@surrey.ac.uk, stephan.jaeckel@hhi.fraunhofer.de, belen.sanchez@thalesaleniaspace.com, ana.yungarcia@thalesaleniaspace.com, oriol.vidal@astrium.eads.net

Abstract

In this paper, we present physical layer and system level techniques that can increase the capacity of a multi-beam high throughput satellite (HTS) communication system. These include advanced predistortion and equalization techniques for the forward link, synchronization and non-linear distortion minimization techniques for the return link waveforms. Interference management techniques such as precoding, multi-user detection (MUD), interference cancellation and coordination are evaluated under realistic co-channel interference (CCI) conditions. Interference-aware radio resource management (RRM) algorithms are presented for the forward and return links with full frequency reuse. These include satellite-switched smart gateway diversity, interferenceaware scheduling (IAS) for the forward link and scheduling based on multi-partite graph matching for the return link. The capacity enhancing techniques are evaluated in the Broadband Access via Integrated Terrestrial and Satellite Systems (BATS) framework.