Internet of Things. User-Centric IoT. First International Summit, IoT360 2014, Rome, Italy, October 27-28, 2014, Revised Selected Papers, Part I

Research Article

BETaaS Platform – A Things as a Service Environment for Future M2M Marketplaces

Download119 downloads
  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-319-19656-5_43,
        author={Sofoklis Kyriazakos and Bayu Anggorojati and Neeli Prasad and Carlo Vallati and Enzo Mingozzi and Giacomo Tanganelli and Novella Buonaccorsi and Nicola Valdambrini and Nikolaos Zonidis and George Labropoulous and Belen Rodriguez and Alessandro Mamelli and Davide Sommacampagna},
        title={BETaaS Platform -- A Things as a Service Environment for Future M2M Marketplaces},
        proceedings={Internet of Things. User-Centric IoT. First International Summit, IoT360 2014, Rome, Italy, October 27-28, 2014, Revised Selected Papers, Part I},
        proceedings_a={IOT360},
        year={2015},
        month={7},
        keywords={IoT M2M communications TaaS},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-319-19656-5_43}
    }
    
  • Sofoklis Kyriazakos
    Bayu Anggorojati
    Neeli Prasad
    Carlo Vallati
    Enzo Mingozzi
    Giacomo Tanganelli
    Novella Buonaccorsi
    Nicola Valdambrini
    Nikolaos Zonidis
    George Labropoulous
    Belen Rodriguez
    Alessandro Mamelli
    Davide Sommacampagna
    Year: 2015
    BETaaS Platform – A Things as a Service Environment for Future M2M Marketplaces
    IOT360
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-319-19656-5_43
Sofoklis Kyriazakos1,*, Bayu Anggorojati1,*, Neeli Prasad1,*, Carlo Vallati2,*, Enzo Mingozzi2,*, Giacomo Tanganelli2,*, Novella Buonaccorsi3,*, Nicola Valdambrini3,*, Nikolaos Zonidis4,*, George Labropoulous4,*, Belen Rodriguez5,*, Alessandro Mamelli6,*, Davide Sommacampagna6,*
  • 1: Aalborg University
  • 2: University of Pisa
  • 3: Intecs S.p.A.
  • 4: Converge ICT Solutions and Services S.A.
  • 5: Tecnalia Research & Innovation
  • 6: Hewlett-Packard Italiana S.r.l.
*Contact email: sk@es.aau.dk, ba@es.aau.dk, np@es.aau.dk, c.vallati@iet.unipi.it, e.mingozzi@iet.unipi.it, g.tanganelli@iet.unipi.it, novella.buonaccorsi@intecs.it, nicola.valdambrini@intecs.it, nzonidis@converge.gr, glabropoulos@converge.gr, belen.martinez@tecnalia.com, alessandro.mamelli@hp.com, davide.sommacampagna@hp.com

Abstract

Building the Environment for Things as a Service (BETaaS) is a novel platform for the deployment and execution of content-centric M2M applications, which relies on a local cloud of gateways. BETaaS platform provides a uniform interface and services to map content with things in a context-aware manner. Deployment of services for the execution of applications is dynamic and takes into account the computational resources of the low-end physical devices used. To this aim, BETaaS platform is based on a suitable defined IoT model, allowing the integration of the BETaaS components within the future Internet environment. In this paper we present the BETaaS concept, the high level platform architecture and application scenarios that extend the state-of-the-art in M2M communications and open the horizon for future M2M marketplaces.