Internet of Things. User-Centric IoT. First International Summit, IoT360 2014, Rome, Italy, October 27-28, 2014, Revised Selected Papers, Part I

Research Article

The Role of Affordance in Cyber-Physical Systems for Behavioral Change

Download126 downloads
  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-319-19656-5_13,
        author={Federica Cena and Amon Rapp and Alessandro Marcengo and Adelina Brizio and Dize Hilviu and Maurizio Tirassa},
        title={The Role of Affordance in Cyber-Physical Systems for Behavioral Change},
        proceedings={Internet of Things. User-Centric IoT. First International Summit, IoT360 2014, Rome, Italy, October 27-28, 2014, Revised Selected Papers, Part I},
        proceedings_a={IOT360},
        year={2015},
        month={7},
        keywords={Cyber-Physical systems Internet of things Affordance Behavioral change},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-319-19656-5_13}
    }
    
  • Federica Cena
    Amon Rapp
    Alessandro Marcengo
    Adelina Brizio
    Dize Hilviu
    Maurizio Tirassa
    Year: 2015
    The Role of Affordance in Cyber-Physical Systems for Behavioral Change
    IOT360
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-319-19656-5_13
Federica Cena1,*, Amon Rapp1,*, Alessandro Marcengo2,*, Adelina Brizio1,*, Dize Hilviu1,*, Maurizio Tirassa1,*
  • 1: University of Torino
  • 2: Telecom Italia - Research and Prototyping
*Contact email: cena@di.unito.it, rapp@di.unito.it, alessandro.marcengo@telecomitalia.it, adelina.brizio@yahoo.it, dize.hilviu@gmail.com, maurizio.tirassa@unito.it

Abstract

Cyber-Physical Systems are the next generation of embedded ICT systems, interconnected through the Internet of Things and endowed with data gathering functions and able to provide some output to users. Thanks to their features, if opportunely designed, they can affect user behavior on two levels: by means of the data gathered, promoting self-awareness to motivate change in the long term, and by means of direct physical cues, inviting users to perform some action in real time. The concept of affordance becomes crucial to the latter aspect: it is necessary to design novel, intuitive object affordances that foster a particular behavior.