Intelligent Technologies for Interactive Entertainment. 5th International ICST Conference, INTETAIN 2013, Mons, Belgium, July 3-5, 2013, Revised Selected Papers

Research Article

About Experience and Emergence - A Framework for Decentralized Interactive Play Environments

Download140 downloads
  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-319-03892-6_13,
        author={Pepijn Rijnbout and Linda Valk and Arnold Vermeeren and Tilde Bekker and Mark Graaf and Ben Schouten and Berry Eggen},
        title={About Experience and Emergence - A Framework for Decentralized Interactive Play Environments},
        proceedings={Intelligent Technologies for Interactive Entertainment. 5th International ICST Conference, INTETAIN 2013, Mons, Belgium, July 3-5, 2013, Revised Selected Papers},
        proceedings_a={INTETAIN},
        year={2014},
        month={6},
        keywords={Framework open-ended play emergence user experience interactions},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-319-03892-6_13}
    }
    
  • Pepijn Rijnbout
    Linda Valk
    Arnold Vermeeren
    Tilde Bekker
    Mark Graaf
    Ben Schouten
    Berry Eggen
    Year: 2014
    About Experience and Emergence - A Framework for Decentralized Interactive Play Environments
    INTETAIN
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-319-03892-6_13
Pepijn Rijnbout1,*, Linda Valk1,*, Arnold Vermeeren2,*, Tilde Bekker1,*, Mark Graaf1,*, Ben Schouten1,*, Berry Eggen1,*
  • 1: Eindhoven University of Technology
  • 2: TU Delft
*Contact email: p.rijnbout@tue.nl, l.c.t.d.valk@tue.nl, a.p.o.s.vermeeren@tudelft.nl, m.m.bekker@tue.nl, m.j.d.graaf@tue.nl, b.a.m.schouten@tue.nl, j.h.eggen@tue.nl

Abstract

Play is an unpredictable and fascinating activity. Its qualities can serve as an inspiration for design. In designing for play, we focus on play environments with players and multiple interactive objects. The current understanding of how to design these objects and interaction opportunities to create meaningful interactions and engaging user experiences is limited. In this paper we introduce a framework focusing on the development of decentralized interactive play environments for emergent play. This framework combines knowledge from different fields including play, user experience, emergent behavior and interactions. Two case studies demonstrate its use as a tool for analysis.