Cognitive Radio Oriented Wireless Networks. 13th EAI International Conference, CROWNCOM 2018, Ghent, Belgium, September 18–20, 2018, Proceedings

Research Article

Coexistence of LTE Networks Under LSA Paradigm in 2.6 GHz Band

  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-030-05490-8_12,
        author={Jaakko Ojaniemi and Heikki Kokkinen and Arto Kivinen and Georgios Agapiou and Stamatis Perdikouris and August Hoxha and Adrian Kliks},
        title={Coexistence of LTE Networks Under LSA Paradigm in 2.6 GHz Band},
        proceedings={Cognitive Radio Oriented Wireless Networks. 13th EAI International Conference, CROWNCOM 2018, Ghent, Belgium, September 18--20, 2018, Proceedings},
        proceedings_a={CROWNCOM},
        year={2019},
        month={1},
        keywords={Vertical spectrum sharing LSA coexistence CBRS model Field trials},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-030-05490-8_12}
    }
    
  • Jaakko Ojaniemi
    Heikki Kokkinen
    Arto Kivinen
    Georgios Agapiou
    Stamatis Perdikouris
    August Hoxha
    Adrian Kliks
    Year: 2019
    Coexistence of LTE Networks Under LSA Paradigm in 2.6 GHz Band
    CROWNCOM
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-030-05490-8_12
Jaakko Ojaniemi,*, Heikki Kokkinen1,*, Arto Kivinen1,*, Georgios Agapiou2,*, Stamatis Perdikouris2,*, August Hoxha2,*, Adrian Kliks3,*
  • 1: Fairspectrum
  • 2: Hellenic Telecommunications Organization S.A. (OTE S.A.) OTE Group
  • 3: Poznan University of Technology
*Contact email: jaako.ojaniemi@fairspectrum.com, heikki.kokkinen@fairspectrum.com, arto.kivinen@fairspectrum.com, gagapiou@ote.gr, sperdikouris@oteresearch.gr, ahoxha@oteresearch.gr, adrian.kliks@put.poznan.pl

Abstract

This paper proposes a sharing scenario based on License Shared Access (LSA) framework with coexistence management between licensed Mobile Network Operator (MNO) and vertical MNOs. This allows the primary LSA license holder to lease the spectrum to the vertical operators when it is not used by the primary operator. We demonstrate the system in a real network consisting of two LTE-A base stations and core network, LSA Repository and LSA Controller. Furthermore, we implement the communication of the relevant network configuration parameters between the LSA Controllers in order to enable coexistence with interference-free conditions.