3rd International ICST Conference on Testbeds and Research Infrastructures for the Development of Networks and Communities (TridentCom)

Research Article

CREATE-NET’s Real-Life Service-Oriented Testbed in Trento

Download40 downloads
  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1109/TRIDENTCOM.2007.4444665,
        author={Roberto Grasso and Davide Mandato and Oscar Mayora and Elio Salvadori and Csaba A. Szab\^{o} and Luigi Telesca and Hagen Woesner},
        title={CREATE-NET’s Real-Life Service-Oriented Testbed in Trento},
        proceedings={3rd International ICST Conference on Testbeds and Research Infrastructures for the Development of Networks and Communities (TridentCom)},
        proceedings_a={TRIDENTCOM},
        year={2010},
        month={5},
        keywords={},
        doi={10.1109/TRIDENTCOM.2007.4444665}
    }
    
  • Roberto Grasso
    Davide Mandato
    Oscar Mayora
    Elio Salvadori
    Csaba A. Szabó
    Luigi Telesca
    Hagen Woesner
    Year: 2010
    CREATE-NET’s Real-Life Service-Oriented Testbed in Trento
    TRIDENTCOM
    IEEE
    DOI: 10.1109/TRIDENTCOM.2007.4444665
Roberto Grasso1,*, Davide Mandato1,*, Oscar Mayora1,*, Elio Salvadori1,*, Csaba A. Szabó1,*, Luigi Telesca1,*, Hagen Woesner1,*
  • 1: CREATE-NET Trento, Italy
*Contact email: roberto.grasso@create-net.org, davide.mandato@create-net.org, oscar.mayora@create-net.org, elio.salvadori@create-net.org, csabaa.szabo@create-net.org, luigi.telesca@create-net.org, hagen.woesner@create-net.org

Abstract

CREATE-NET’s testbed is an open, service-oriented environment, implemented on a real-life city-wide communication infrastructure deployed in the city of Trento. Target user groups and users are integral part of the experimentation and take part in validation of the services implemented in the testbed. It spans the range of the most advanced communications technologies, starting from a wide area DWDM optical backbone, WiMAX & Wi-Fi wireless distribution/access networks, all the way to sensor networks and technologies for smart spaces. The testbed also serves as a model of a community network, planned for deployment in the Province of Trento.