Intelligent Technologies for Interactive Entertainment. 4th International ICST Conference, INTETAIN 2011, Genova, Italy, May 25-27, 2011, Revised Selected Papers

Research Article

User-Centered Evaluation of the Virtual Binocular Interface

Download30 downloads
  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-642-30214-5_8,
        author={Donald Glowinski and Maurizio Mancini and Paolo Coletta and Simone Ghisio and Carlo Chiorri and Antonio Camurri and Gualtiero Volpe},
        title={User-Centered Evaluation of the Virtual Binocular Interface},
        proceedings={Intelligent Technologies for Interactive Entertainment. 4th International ICST Conference, INTETAIN 2011, Genova, Italy, May 25-27, 2011, Revised Selected Papers},
        proceedings_a={INTETAIN},
        year={2012},
        month={10},
        keywords={Virtual Reality Interactive Museum Applications and Guides Novel Interaction Technologies},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-642-30214-5_8}
    }
    
  • Donald Glowinski
    Maurizio Mancini
    Paolo Coletta
    Simone Ghisio
    Carlo Chiorri
    Antonio Camurri
    Gualtiero Volpe
    Year: 2012
    User-Centered Evaluation of the Virtual Binocular Interface
    INTETAIN
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-642-30214-5_8
Donald Glowinski1,*, Maurizio Mancini1,*, Paolo Coletta1,*, Simone Ghisio1,*, Carlo Chiorri1,*, Antonio Camurri1,*, Gualtiero Volpe1,*
  • 1: University of Genova
*Contact email: donald@infomus.org, maurizio@infomus.org, paolo.coletta@unige.it, ghisio@infomus.org, carlo.chiorri@unige.it, antonio.camurri@unige.it, gualtiero.volpe@unige.it

Abstract

This paper describes a full-body pointing interface based on the mimicking of the use of binoculars, the Virtual Binocular Interface. This interface is a component of the interactive installation “Viaggiatori di Sguardo”, located at Palazzo Ducale, Genova, Italy, and visited by more than 5,000 visitors so far. This paper focuses on the evaluation of such an interface.