Testbeds and Research Infrastructures. Development of Networks and Communities. 6th International ICST Conference, TridentCom 2010, Berlin, Germany, May 18-20, 2010, Revised Selected Papers

Research Article

Open Urban Computing Testbed

Download58 downloads
  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-642-17851-1_35,
        author={Timo Ojala and Hannu Kukka and Tommi Heikkinen and Tomas Lind\^{e}n and Marko Jurmu and Fabio Kruger and Szymon Sasin and Simo Hosio and Pauli N\aa{}rhi},
        title={Open Urban Computing Testbed},
        proceedings={Testbeds and Research Infrastructures. Development of Networks and Communities. 6th International ICST Conference, TridentCom 2010, Berlin, Germany, May 18-20, 2010, Revised Selected Papers},
        proceedings_a={TRIDENTCOM},
        year={2012},
        month={10},
        keywords={urban computing ubiquitous computing public private partnership},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-642-17851-1_35}
    }
    
  • Timo Ojala
    Hannu Kukka
    Tommi Heikkinen
    Tomas Lindén
    Marko Jurmu
    Fabio Kruger
    Szymon Sasin
    Simo Hosio
    Pauli Närhi
    Year: 2012
    Open Urban Computing Testbed
    TRIDENTCOM
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-642-17851-1_35
Timo Ojala1,*, Hannu Kukka1,*, Tommi Heikkinen1,*, Tomas Lindén1,*, Marko Jurmu1,*, Fabio Kruger1,*, Szymon Sasin1,*, Simo Hosio1,*, Pauli Närhi1,*
  • 1: University of Oulu
*Contact email: timo.ojala@ee.oulu.fi, hannu.kukka@ee.oulu.fi, tommi.heikkinen@ee.oulu.fi, tomas.linden@ee.oulu.fi, marko.jurmu@ee.oulu.fi, fabio.kruger@ee.oulu.fi, szymon.sasin@ee.oulu.fi, simo.hosio@ee.oulu.fi, pauli.narhi@ee.oulu.fi

Abstract

We present a unique urban computing testbed for studying the utilization of ubiquitous computing technology in the public urban space of a city center. The testbed comprises of a wide range of pervasive computing infrastructure and different middleware resources. We demonstrate the applicability and benefits of the testbed in evaluating technology pilots and prototyping new ubiquitous services in real-world urban setting. We conclude with a discussion on the challenges in deploying this kind of a large-scale testbed in a public urban space.