1st International ICST Conference on Networks for Grid Applications

Research Article

Network as a resource: G-lambda project and its architecture

Download78 downloads
  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.4108/gridnets.2007.2289,
        author={Tomohiro Kudoh and Shuichi Okamoto and Yukio Tsukishima and Hideaki Tanaka and Masahiko Jinno and Michiaki Hayashi and Atsuko Takefusa and Tomohiro Otani and Atsushi Taniguchi and Akira Hirano and Takahiro Miyamoto and Hidemoto Nakada and Yasunori Sameshima},
        title={Network as a resource: G-lambda project and its architecture},
        proceedings={1st International ICST Conference on Networks for Grid Applications},
        publisher={ICST},
        proceedings_a={GRIDNETS},
        year={2007},
        month={10},
        keywords={Network as a resource bandwidth provisioning G-lambda GNSWSI},
        doi={10.4108/gridnets.2007.2289}
    }
    
  • Tomohiro Kudoh
    Shuichi Okamoto
    Yukio Tsukishima
    Hideaki Tanaka
    Masahiko Jinno
    Michiaki Hayashi
    Atsuko Takefusa
    Tomohiro Otani
    Atsushi Taniguchi
    Akira Hirano
    Takahiro Miyamoto
    Hidemoto Nakada
    Yasunori Sameshima
    Year: 2007
    Network as a resource: G-lambda project and its architecture
    GRIDNETS
    ICST
    DOI: 10.4108/gridnets.2007.2289
Tomohiro Kudoh1,*, Shuichi Okamoto2,3,*, Yukio Tsukishima4,*, Hideaki Tanaka3,*, Masahiko Jinno4,*, Michiaki Hayashi3,*, Atsuko Takefusa1,*, Tomohiro Otani2,3,*, Atsushi Taniguchi4,2,*, Akira Hirano4,*, Takahiro Miyamoto3,*, Hidemoto Nakada1,*, Yasunori Sameshima2,4,*
  • 1: National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST); Tokyo, Japan
  • 2: National Institute of Information and Communications Technology (NICT); Tokyo, Japan
  • 3: KDDI R&D Laboratories; Saitama, Japan
  • 4: NTT Network Innovation Laboratories; Kanagawa, Japan
*Contact email: t.kudoh@aist.go.jp, okamoto@kddilabs.jp, tsukishima@lab.ntt.co.jp, hide@kddilabs.jp, masahiko@lab.ntt.co.jp, mc-hayashi@kddilabs.jp, atsuko@aist.go.jp, otani@kddilabs.jp, taniguchi@lab.ntt.co.jp, hirano.akira@lab.ntt.co.jp, tk-miyamoto@kddilabs.jp, hide-nakada@aist.go.jp, yasunori@lab.ntt.co.jp

Abstract

In computing systems, hardware components such as CPUs, memories and storages are “resources”. Resources are managed by resource managers (c.f. a queuing system of a computing center), and a user can use them while they are allocated to the user. To provide a stable service using “resources” connected to a wide area network, network itself should be also considered as a “resource” and bandwidth should be allocated to users appropriately. Resource is provided to a user or upper layer middleware by a resource manager. Therefore, to realize “network as a resource”, bandwidth of network should be managed by a network resource manager, and an interface to provide resource service to users or middleware is required. National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technologies (AIST), KDDI R&D Laboratories, NTT and National Institute of Information and Communications Technology (NICT) are promoting collaborative project, called G-lambda, to establish such a standard interface, which is called GNS-WSI (Grid Network Service-Web Services Interface). In this paper, we will briefly introduce the architecture we assume in the G-lambda project to define GNS-WSI.