Cloud Infrastructures, Services, and IoT Systems for Smart Cities. Second EAI International Conference, IISSC 2017 and CN4IoT 2017, Brindisi, Italy, April 20–21, 2017, Proceedings

Research Article

Big Data HIS of the IRCCS-ME Future: The Osmotic Computing Infrastructure

  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-319-67636-4_21,
        author={Lorenzo Carnevale and Antonino Galletta and Antonio Celesti and Maria Fazio and Maurizio Paone and Placido Bramanti and Massimo Villari},
        title={Big Data HIS of the IRCCS-ME Future: The Osmotic Computing Infrastructure},
        proceedings={Cloud Infrastructures, Services, and IoT Systems for Smart Cities. Second EAI International Conference, IISSC 2017 and CN4IoT 2017, Brindisi, Italy, April 20--21, 2017, Proceedings},
        proceedings_a={IISSC \& CN4IOT},
        year={2017},
        month={11},
        keywords={Hospital Information System Big Data eHealth IoT Osmotic computing},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-319-67636-4_21}
    }
    
  • Lorenzo Carnevale
    Antonino Galletta
    Antonio Celesti
    Maria Fazio
    Maurizio Paone
    Placido Bramanti
    Massimo Villari
    Year: 2017
    Big Data HIS of the IRCCS-ME Future: The Osmotic Computing Infrastructure
    IISSC & CN4IOT
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-319-67636-4_21
Lorenzo Carnevale,*, Antonino Galletta,*, Antonio Celesti1,*, Maria Fazio1,*, Maurizio Paone2,*, Placido Bramanti2,*, Massimo Villari,*
  • 1: University of Messina
  • 2: IRCCS Centro Neurolesi “Bonino Pulejo”
*Contact email: lcarnevale@unime.it, angalletta@unime.it, acelesti@unime.it, mfazio@unime.it, mpaone@irccsme.it, pbramanti@irccsme.it, mvillari@unime.it

Abstract

Nowadays, we are observing a massive digitalization of clinical tasks in Hospital Information Systems (HIS). Even more medical devices belongs to Internet of Things (IoT) applications that generate a huge amount of clinical data. Therefore, the healthcare industry is looking at modern big data storage, processing and analytics technologies. In this context, traditional HIS presents several issues, such as a mismanagement of data generated from medical devices. Starting from the experience of IRCCS Centro Neurolesi “Bonino Pulejo” placed in Messina (Italy), i.e., a clinical and research center, in this paper, we motivate the need to move traditional HIS into an innovative infrastructure based on the Osmotic computing paradigm. In particular, studying the healthcare domain, we specifically focus on production and research tasks.