e-Infrastructure and e-Services for Developing Countries. 8th International Conference, AFRICOMM 2016, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso, December 6-7, 2016, Proceedings

Research Article

Head to Head Battle of TV White Space and WiFi for Connecting Developing Regions

  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-319-66742-3_18,
        author={David Johnson and Natasha Zlobinsky and Albert Lysko and Magdeline Lamola and Senka Hadzic and Richard Maliwatu and Melissa Densmore},
        title={Head to Head Battle of TV White Space and WiFi for Connecting Developing Regions},
        proceedings={e-Infrastructure and e-Services for Developing Countries. 8th International Conference, AFRICOMM 2016, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso, December 6-7, 2016, Proceedings},
        proceedings_a={AFRICOMM},
        year={2017},
        month={10},
        keywords={TV white space 802.11 Rural connectivity},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-319-66742-3_18}
    }
    
  • David Johnson
    Natasha Zlobinsky
    Albert Lysko
    Magdeline Lamola
    Senka Hadzic
    Richard Maliwatu
    Melissa Densmore
    Year: 2017
    Head to Head Battle of TV White Space and WiFi for Connecting Developing Regions
    AFRICOMM
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-319-66742-3_18
David Johnson1,*, Natasha Zlobinsky1,*, Albert Lysko1,*, Magdeline Lamola1,*, Senka Hadzic2,*, Richard Maliwatu2,*, Melissa Densmore2,*
  • 1: Meraka, CSIR
  • 2: Computer Science Department, UCT
*Contact email: djohnson@csir.co.za, nzlobinsky@csir.co.za, alysko@csir.co.za, mlamola@csir.co.za, shadzic@cs.uct.ac.za, rmaliwatu@cs.uct.ac.za, mdensmore@cs.uct.ac.za

Abstract

TV White Space networks are gaining momentum worldwide as an important addition to the suite of wireless protocols available for connecting developing regions. However, there has been no thorough investigation of scenarios where TV White Space performs better or worse than alternative low-cost wireless technology such as WiFi. This paper analyzes the performance of 5 GHz WiFi links and TV White space links using down-converted WiFi, typically used as wireless backhaul for poorly connected regions, in different scenarios including line-of-sight links and links obstructed by trees and structures. The experiments make use of 802.11a/b/g WiFi and TV White Space equipment that downconverts standard 802.11 a/b/g WiFi from the 2.4 GHz band into the UHF band. The paper finds that 5 GHz links outperformed TVWS where clear line-of-sight is available and point-to-point links are required. TVWS however is a clear choice where there are obstructions and where wider coverage is needed. Some interesting observations on the negative effect of TV transmissions in adjacent channels a few channel-hops away from the channel being used for TVWS are also provided.