Pervasive Computing Paradigms for Mental Health. 7th International Conference, MindCare 2018, Boston, MA, USA, January 9–10, 2018, Proceedings

Research Article

The Technology-Enhanced Ability Continuum-of-Care Home Program for People with Cognitive Disorders: Concept Design and Scenario of Use

  • @INPROCEEDINGS{10.1007/978-3-030-01093-5_9,
        author={Olivia Realdon and Federica Rossetto and Marco Nalin and Ilaria Baroni and Maria Romano and Felice Catania and David Frontini and Sergio Mancastroppa and Margherita Alberoni and Valentino Zurloni and Raffaello Nemni and Fabrizia Mantovani and Francesca Baglio},
        title={The Technology-Enhanced Ability Continuum-of-Care Home Program for People with Cognitive Disorders: Concept Design and Scenario of Use},
        proceedings={Pervasive Computing Paradigms for Mental Health. 7th International Conference, MindCare 2018,  Boston, MA, USA, January 9--10, 2018, Proceedings},
        proceedings_a={MINDCARE},
        year={2018},
        month={10},
        keywords={Telerehabilitation Cognitive disorders Alzheimer’s disease Dementia Cognitive rehabilitation},
        doi={10.1007/978-3-030-01093-5_9}
    }
    
  • Olivia Realdon
    Federica Rossetto
    Marco Nalin
    Ilaria Baroni
    Maria Romano
    Felice Catania
    David Frontini
    Sergio Mancastroppa
    Margherita Alberoni
    Valentino Zurloni
    Raffaello Nemni
    Fabrizia Mantovani
    Francesca Baglio
    Year: 2018
    The Technology-Enhanced Ability Continuum-of-Care Home Program for People with Cognitive Disorders: Concept Design and Scenario of Use
    MINDCARE
    Springer
    DOI: 10.1007/978-3-030-01093-5_9
Olivia Realdon1,*, Federica Rossetto2,*, Marco Nalin3,*, Ilaria Baroni3,*, Maria Romano3,*, Felice Catania4,*, David Frontini4,*, Sergio Mancastroppa4,*, Margherita Alberoni2,*, Valentino Zurloni1,*, Raffaello Nemni,*, Fabrizia Mantovani1,*, Francesca Baglio2,*
  • 1: Università degli Studi di Milano-Bicocca
  • 2: IRCCS Fondazione don Carlo Gnocchi
  • 3: Telbios S. r. l, Research & Development
  • 4: Astir S. r. l, IT Development
*Contact email: olivia.realdon@unimib.it, frossetto@dongnocchi.it, marco.nalin@telbios.com, ilaria.baroni@telbios.com, maria.romano@telbios.com, felice.catania@astir.com, david.frontini@astir.com, sergio.mancastroppa@astir.com, malberoni@dongnocchi.it, valentino.zurloni@unimib.it, rnemni@dongnocchi.it, fabrizia.mantovani@unimib.it, fbaglio@dongnocchi.it

Abstract

Alzheimer’s disease (AD) has been identified as one of the 25 top causes of years lived with disability. Currently, no pharmacological treatment can prevent, slow down, or stop the course of this disease. From the clinical and health management perspectives, Mild Cognitive Impairment – a condition representing a risk factor for the development of dementia - and early stages of AD are the most interesting conditions for interventions aimed at delaying further decline. Telemonitoring and telerehabilitation home-based services have been advocated to provide manifold benefits for people with cognitive disorders. In this paper, we will describe the concept vision enlightening Ability, a technology-enhanced continuity-of-care home program for people with cognitive disorders. After describing the platform architecture, we will present a use case showing how it benefits people with cognitive disorders and both formal and informal caregivers by generating intertwining support in the process of care, enhancing well-being, health conditions, and inclusion.